The 3rd National Women's Congress

The Third National Women's Congress
Chairman Mao Zedong and other leaders of the CPC Central Committee meet executive members of the Third National Women's Congress. 


The Third National Women's Congress was held in Beijing from September 9-20, 1957, with 1,297 deputies in attendance. The Congress passed the work report "Run the Country and Manage Households in an Industrious and Frugal Way, and Strive for the Construction of Socialism" as well as the resolution on the "Constitutionof the All-China Women's Federation." The principle of "running the country and managing households in an industrious and frugal way" was ascertained as the basic policy. It was stated that women would be encouraged and mobilized to work hard for the construction of a rich, strong and prosperous socialist country. Under terms of the revised constitution, the former ACWDF was changed to ACWF, which it has since remained. Soong Ching-Ling and He Xiangning were elected Honorary Presidents and Cai Chang President.

(Women of China)